Death Pop Radio Signs with Dark Star Records

Dark Star Records is pleased to announce that they have just signed Death Pop Radio the Chicago based hard rock band. And, the new self titled full length album drops on 05/07/21


Release Date: 05/07/21

BIOGRAPHY: DEATH POP RADIO (formerly Ravens) began their journey as a song, not a band. A fun collaboration that quickly blossomed into a full blown Hard-Pop-Grunge melting pot of back stories and musical experience.

Their debut single and video, “Ravens”, had thousands of views and hits within days. DEATH POP RADIO was born and came into the world with a natural buzz within the Chicago music scene.

The band started in late 2017 when guitarist Dee J Nelson ran into lead vocalist Eric Liljehorn at a King’s-X show in Chicago. A few quick words; a potential collaboration and mutual love for all things musical. The two began working on a few of Dee J’s songs together and both could tell something right away was simply “clicking”. Shortly after the release of “Ravens” it was clear a full band was in order. In need of a name, the band started out by temporarily using the title of its flagship song “Ravens” and while the temp name stuck longer than expected the guys eventually found the name that would fit them and their unique blend of rock and grunge – DEATH POP RADIO

Dee J and Eric were soon joined by two Chicago area veterans, drummer Jimmy B and bassist Mike Streicher. With a mixed bag rhythm section of thrashy, grunge drumming and hard rock bass added into the fray, DPR was on their way to creating their own flavor and sound. DEATH POP RADIO’s self-titled debut Album will be released worldwide through Dark Star Records on May 7th, 2021. DPR’s haunted\fun house style is on full display in forthcoming singles include “Rock ’em Sock ’em” “Ravens”, and “Wake Up Drop Dead”. With their raw and driving rhythms and sing-along style hooks, Death Pop Radio’s sound sits comfortably somewhere between Kings X and White Zombie. Add in a sprinkle of industrial sound design and this black bird soars.

Death Pop Radio is:

Dee J Guitars – Vocals/Production
Eric Liljehorn/EL Mysterioso – Vocals / Lyrics
Mike Streicher – Bass/Vocals
Jim Bluthardt – Drums

For more info on Death Pop Radio go to:

5 comments on “Death Pop Radio Signs with Dark Star Records

Leave a Reply